You can receive several penalties if convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in Georgia. Along with jail time and fines, license suspension will also occur.
Not having a valid license affects you personally and professionally. It can also land you in further legal trouble if you drive without a license. The Georgia Department of Driver Services explains how to get your license reinstated after DUI.
How long does the suspension period last?
The length of the suspension depends on your age and whether it is your first offense. Drivers 21 and older with first offenses in a five-year period will receive a 12-month license suspension. Subsequent offenses will incur a longer suspension period. The factors surrounding your arrest may also play a role.
What can I do to have my license reinstated?
Your license must remain suspended for at least 120 days before you can apply for reinstatement. At that point, you must complete a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program. The Department of Driver Services only approves certain programs when it comes to license reinstatement. Upon completion, you will receive a certificate that you must present. You must also pay a $200 fee to have driving privileges reinstated.
What is a limited permit?
During the suspension period, limited permits allow you to drive to certain places. This typically includes places like work, school, and medical clinics.
While you may have heard that drivers are not obligated to submit to chemical testing, implied consent laws say otherwise. According to these laws, all motorists agree to testing when using public roads. If you refuse, you will receive a minimum one-year suspension of your driving privileges.