Facing a charge of driving under the influence in Georgia may have you concerned about having to spend time behind bars. This may prove especially true if you already have a conviction for drunk driving in your driving history.
According to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, you may have to go to jail after your first DUI conviction. However, whether you must do so is going to be at the discretion of the judge.
Possible jail sentences after a first Georgia DUI
If you do wind up in jail after a first DUI, you may have to go for up to one year, depending o the circumstances surrounding your conviction. Once you receive a second or third DUI conviction within a particular timeframe, though, time behind bars becomes mandatory.
Possible jail sentences after a second Georgia DUI
As is the case with a first-time DUI, you may have to spend up to a year behind bars following a second offense. However, if you receive a second DUI conviction within five years of your first one, you have to spend at least 48 hours in jail. Some second-time offenders must spend between 90 days and a year in jail.
Possible jail sentences after a third Georgia DUI
A third DUI conviction within the same five-year span as your second means a mandatory 15 days behind bars. Depending on the circumstances, you may have to spend more time there.
In addition to jail time, you may face additional penalties after a DUI, including fines and community service obligations, among others.