Drivers in Georgia who face a DUI conviction face numerous penalties and consequences. One of these is license suspension, which makes it difficult to get to work, school or to run an errand. Many people depend on friends, family or public transportation, but for others, an ignition interlock device may help them get some driving privileges back sooner. This device requires the driver to breathe into it, and the car will not start unless the blood alcohol level is .02 or less.
According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, the state of Georgia allows first-time offenders to have an ignition interlock, and it requires subsequent offenders who are on probation to install this device on all the vehicles they own. The use of this device begins after a minimum suspension period of 120 days, and there are restrictions as to where the offender can drive. This limited driving permit only allows for transportation to:
- Alcohol treatment or support meetings
- Monthly visits to the ignition interlock service provider
According to the Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia, maintaining this device in the vehicle takes regular service monitoring and various fees. Installation takes place at a certified center, and the driver must return every 30 days for recalibration and inspection. The fee for installation, removal and monthly visits may not exceed $75 for each one.
The driver of a vehicle with an installed ignition interlock device must not tamper with it in any way. This includes having someone else breathe into the device, starting the vehicle in a way that bypasses the breath test, physically disabling the device or failing to provide a random breath sample when asked.